Guest experience

Raceday Experience Group

The Raceday Experience Group was established in 2009, and acts as a guiding body for racecourses in developing a culture of excellence and innovation to enhance customer experience.

Comprised of representatives from all racecourses, including Jockey Club Racecourses, ARC, and large and small independents, the Group’s mission statement is “to endeavour to promote and share best practice amongst British racecourses, and seek expertise from those at the cutting edge of the wider sports, leisure and retail worlds to provide the best possible experience for our customers.”

The Group has played an integral role in some of the sport’s most significant initiatives, including the Showcase & Awards, Insight = Growth, the PASS entry system and the Quality Assured Racecourse Scheme with VisitEngland and VisitScotland.

Assembling around six times annually, each meeting includes a ‘good ideas roundtable’ that allows the sharing of best practice in its purest form. Additionally, regular study trips are hosted to examine best-in-class customer experience first-hand. The culmination of the Group’s work is the annual Showcase & Awards.

The exchange of ideas is a key element of the Raceday Experience Group. Racecourses are welcome to contact the RCA and arrange to attend a meeting.



Keep up to date with the latest Raceday Experience Group meetings and study trips by using the calendar below:

Tuesday 30th January
Raceday Experience Group, 75 High Holborn, London, 11am-1pm

Tuesday 20th March
Raceday Experience Group, 75 High Holborn, London, 11am-1pm

Tuesday 29th May
Raceday Experience Group, 75 High Holborn, London, 11am-1pm

Tuesday 17th July (Away trip)
Raceday Experience Group, Bath Racecourse, 10.30am-12.30pm

Wednesday 10th October
Raceday Experience Group, 75 High Holborn, London, 11am-1pm

Monday 10th December (Away trip)
Raceday Experience Group, Musselburgh Racecourse, 10am-12pm


What is it that makes a raceday special? The variety of ‘surprise and delight’ initiatives across British Racecourses is great testament to how far racecourses go to ensure customers have a fantastic day out.

To recognise this, the Showcase & Awards honour the #TopSpots of the year. These are standalone initiatives, nominated by racecourses, which they feel enhance the customer experience and/or the racecourse brand.

The latest #TopSpots are in the gallery below, and can be found via our Twitter @RCAShowcase.

  • Plumpton 24th Sept 17


The Group

Caroline Davies – RCA, Chair
Paul Swain – RCA, Manager
Rachel White – ARC
Chris Bevan – Ascot
Joanna Wales – Ascot
Juliet Slot – Ascot
Jo Hall – Bath
Sally Iggulden – Beverley
Kate McKee– Beverley
Stephanie Hughes– Chester/Bangor-on-Dee
Alex Eade – Goodwood
Sarah Bullen – Goodwood
Gregg Taylor – GBR
Rod Street – GBR
David Fraser – Harrison:Fraser
Katie Wise Jockey Club Racecourses
Rebecca Hamilton – Jockey Club Racecourses
Steve Parlett – Kempton Park
Nadia Powell– Market Rasen
Phil Duncan– Musselburgh
Rob Boobyer – Newbury
Katy Webster – Perth
Ilona Barnett – Stratford-on-Avon
Hayley Locker – Uttoxeter
Amy Swales – York